Aesthetic, cartoonish, cute, Genre, minimalist, straightforward

ROOM Δ / ROOM Γ

Published by Kotorinosu. I played this on android.

The Short: I wanted to like these games. I like other games by this Publisher. But both of these games required some pretty enormous leaps of inference.

Recommended if you like beanbag chairs, Debussy, tidy work spaces

Description:
There is no denying it. Kotorinosu has swell graphics. ROOM Δ and ROOM Γ are no exceptions. They are minimalist and cute. I would call the difficulty level high on both game. Even bearing that in mind, I felt cheated by ROOM Δ and ROOM Γ  two specific times: Without spoiling anything (because maybe you’d rather see for yourself) I will describe: The first incident was a multi-room solution.*  For one puzzle I was supposed to operate a machine that had modules in two rooms. That’s fine. What’s irritating is that the second module was hidden. I did not know that it existed. There was no indication on the machine that it needed a secondary input. I spent a long time operating the machine in ignorance. When I finally broke down and watched the solution I thought to myself, “I never would have discovered this on my own.” Let me reiterate here that I play a lot of escape games. If I watch a  puzzle solution but still feel that the solution was unreasonable, I think that moves the frustration from subjective feeling to objective data point.

The second thing that happened was towards the end of the other game. I had theoretically solved the puzzle (I understood the components in play and the result I needed) but one of the components would not respond when I tried to activate it. I tried and tried and finally gave up and watched the solution. The problem? The component needed to be clicked a very specific way, i.e. not the object itself but the space behind the object. I was so frustrated  by this that I am still upset about it and that’s why this description is two huge paragraphs.

Difficulty Level: Beyond Difficult
Difficulty Elements:  cascade | esoteric puzzle arrays | invisible puzzle arrays | low Absurdity

*Technically, this entire game happens in one room but it is sectioned out sideways (like a galley).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

